Michael Smith and James Wade will feature in blockbuster clashes in the 1st Round of the World Grand Prix.

The Team Unicorn duo have been handed tough draws in what is arguably the strongest field seen at the City West Hotel in Dublin.

Smith plays former World Champion Adrian Lewis, while former WGP winner Wade takes on Mensur Suljovic.

In all seven Unicorn stars will be involved in Dublin when the tournament gets under way on September 30.

Gary Anderson starts his bid against Welshman Jonny Clayton. If he wins, Anderson would face the winner of a big all Unicorn 1st Round match between Jeffrey de Zwaan and Kim Huybrechts.

Elsewhere, the in-form Ian White plays Josh Payne and Joe Cullen takes on Ron Meulenkamp.

WGP draw (seeds in brackets)

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Steve Lennon

Darren Webster v Stephen Bunting

Dave Chisnall (8) v Max Hopp

Ricky Evans v Raymond van Barneveld

Daryl Gurney (5) v John Henderson

Ron Meulenkamp v Joe Cullen

Gary Anderson (4) v Jonny Clayton

Jeffrey de Zwaan v Kim Huybrechts

Peter Wright (2) v Steve West

Jermaine Wattimena v Mervyn King

Simon Whitlock (7) v James Wilson

Michael Smith v Adrian Lewis

Mensur Suljovic (6) v James Wade

Josh Payne v Ian White

Rob Cross (3) v Steve Beaton

Danny Noppert v Gerwyn Price


Posted in Unicorn Darts