Following his maiden Players Championship title in April, Unicorn youngster Jeffrey De Zwaan has earned a place in the BetVictor World Matchplay line-up.

Unicorn’s James Wade, the 2007 champion, is the only other former World Matchplay winner in the field, which will also include Team Unicorn stars Gary Anderson, Michael Smith, Ian White, Kim Hurbrechts, Joe Cullen. Kyle Anderson and Keegan Brown.

The 25th staging of the World Matchplay at Blackpool's Winter Gardens will be held from July 21-29, with players competing for "The Phil Taylor Trophy" after the renaming of the honour following the 16-time champion's retirement.

The BetVictor World Matchplay will be broadcast on Sky Sports from July 21-29. For tickets, call the Winter Gardens Box Office on 0844 856 1111 or buy online at

The draw for the BetVictor World Matchplay is expected to be made on Wednesday July 4. Further details will be confirmed at in due course. 

Posted in Unicorn Darts