Team Unicorn trio learn Grand Slam fate

Gary Anderson, James Wade and Michael Smith will fly the Team Unicorn flag at this year's Grand Slam of Darts.

Anderson and Wade have both lost Grand Slam Finals, while Smith has a decent recent record at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall. 

The Scot is seeded 3rd and will face Australian Simon Whitlock, Dutch youngster Berry van Peer and another Scot in BDO player Cameron Menzies, who is making his debut.

Wade will face Phil Taylor, Robbie Green and BDO World Trophy winner Peter Machin, while Smith has been drawn with Mensur Suljovic, James Wilson and BDO No.1 Mark McGeeney. 

The top two from each group qualify for the knock-out stages. 

Grand Slam Groups (seeds in brackets):

Group A:

Michael van Gerwen (1)

Rob Cross

Joe Murnan 

Ross Montgomery

Group B:

Raymond van Barneveld (8)

Gerwyn Price

Steve Lennon

Jamie Hughes

Group C:

Phil Taylor (5)


Robbie Green 

Peter Machin 

Group D:

Daryl Gurney (4)

Darren Webster 

Mark Webster

Danny Noppert

Group E:

Peter Wright (2)

Alan Norris

Corey Cadby

Glenn Durrant

Group F:

Dave Chisnall (7)

Stephen Bunting

Jeffrey de Zwaan

Scott Mitchell

Group G:

Mensur Suljovic (6)


James Wilson

Mark McGeeney

Group H:


Simon Whitlock 

Berry van Peer

Cameron Menzies

The 2017 Grand Slam of Darts starts on Saturday 'live' on Sky Sports

Story from STUART PYKE

Image courtesy Lawrence Lustig / PDC