Countdown to Dublin!

Gary Anderson and Michael Smith will be among the top seeds for the UniBet World Grand Prix in Dublin next month.

And Team Unicorn stablemate Ronny Huybrechts is celebrating after securing a Dublin debut! The Belgian sealed the last qualifying spot through the Pro Tour Order of Merit.

Huybrechts reached the last 16 at the German Darts Masters at the weekend and although he was beaten by Vincent van der Voort, it was enough to take him to Ireland for the 'Double Start' tournament which kicks-off on October 1st.

Anderson is the No.2 seed and Smith is now seeded 7th after the withdrawal of Phil Taylor. 

Five other Unicorn stars will compete in Dublin.....James Wade, Kim Huybrechts, Ian White, Joe Cullen and Kyle Anderson. 

The draw will take place on Sunday morning in Cardiff at the Champions League of Darts. Taylor's withdrawal also means an 11th hour reprieve for 2015 WGP champion Robert Thornton, who wouldn't have qualified otherwise. 


World No.1 Michael van Gerwen won his fifth Euro Tour title of the year on Sunday when he beat Rob Cross 6-3 in the final of the German Darts Grand Prix in Mannheim.

The best Team Unicorn results came from Michael Smith and Ian White who reached the quarter-finals before losing to Simon Whitlock and Cross respectively.

As well as Ronny Huybrechts, Joe Cullen and Kyle Anderson were also beaten in the last 16.


And it is congratulations to Wayne Jones and former World Championship finalist Mark Dudbridge who have both won back their prized PDC Tour Cards after finishing first and second on the 2017 PDC Unicorn Challenge Tour Order of Merit.

The last four events of the series took place at the weekend. The four men to win the tournaments were Peter Jacques, Nick Fullwell, Jones and Alan Tabern.

But it is Jones and Dudbridge who have come through the year on top of the pile. Everyone at Unicorn wishes them both a successful 2018


Image courtesy Lawrence Lustig / PDC