Unicorn duo Michael Smith and James Wade will face off for a place in the semi-finals of the Perth Darts Masters. 

Both were convincing winners on Friday night. Gary Anderson is also through to the last eight where he will play Simon Whitlock, but Kyle Anderson was knocked out. 

Wade averaged 96 and hit six doubles from nine attempts as he whitewashed qualifier Darren Hayes. He won the match in style with a 103 finish. 

Smith stuttered over the finishing line. He beat Adam Rowe 6-2 but saved the best for last with a 120 check-out to win it. 

Gary Anderson made a slow start against Kiwi Rob Szabo. He then hit seven perfect darts in the fourth leg. The Unicorn ace should have won 6-0 but missed eight darts for the match. A third maximum helped him to a convincing 6-1 victory. 

Kyle Anderson missed a great opportunity to beat Phil Taylor for the first time as he bowed out of his hometown event. He led 4-2 and then missed a dart at 'tops' to go 5-3 ahead and another at D16 for a 5-4 advantage. Taylor won four straight legs to go through 6-4. 

1st Round results:

Michael Smith 6-2 Adam Rowe

Peter Wright 6-2 Rhys Mathewson

Daryl Gurney 6-0 Koha Kokori

James Wade 6-0 Darren Hayes 

Simon Whitlock 6-2 Justin Thompson 

Phil Taylor 6-4 Kyle Anderson 

Gary Anderson 6-1 Rob Szabo

Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Corey Cadby

Saturday Q/Finals:

James Wade v Michael Smith

Peter Wright v Daryl Gurney 

Gary Anderson v Simon Whitlock 

Phil Taylor v Raymond van Barneveld 


Photo courtesy Photosport/PDC

Posted in Unicorn Darts