Players Championship hat-trick for Van Gerwen

Michael van Gerwen's astonishing winning run continued as he claimed the Players Championship Finals for a third consecutive year.

The World No.1 thrashed Welshman Jonny Clayton to take the big prize in Minehead yet again.

James Wade's run came to an end in the quarter-finals in Minehead, as the Unicorn man was beaten by Rob Cross. 

Despite a 121 finish, Wade found himself 4-1 down and the big moment came in the 10th leg. The Team Unicorn star was sat on 44 to get the match back to only 6-4 behind and Cross took out a sensational 148.

Cross was then beaten by Clayton in the semi-Finals, while Van Gerwen beat Justin Pipe.

But the World No.1 was just too good all weekend. He averaged 105 in the final and his tournament average was also around the 105 mark.

Clayton was no match but can still be very proud of his achievements. Van Gerwen hit three ton plus finishes and five 180s in a sensational display in the final

He has now won four consecutive European Championships, three World Series Finals on the spin, three straight Grand Slam titles and now three consecutive Players Championship tournaments. He will head to the Ally Pally looking for back-to-back World Championships, and then to Milton Keynes looking for a 4th Masters win on the spin.

Results - Q/Finals:

Rob Cross 10-6 James Wade

Jonny Clayton 10-9 Steve Beaton

Justin Pipe 10-9 Daryl Gurney

Michael van Gerwen 10-7 Jan Dekker


Jonny Clayton 11-8 Rob Cross

Michael van Gerwen 11-3 Justin Pipe


Michael van Gerwen 11-2 Jonny Clayton

Story from STUART PYKE at the Players Championship Finals 

Photo courtesy Lawrence Lustig / PDC